The Director's Office

One may find it rather unthinkable if twelve large and diverse divisions exist in the National Museum, each functioning independently or autonomously, and yet, there is no coordinating body that administers their respective programs and activities. Can you imagine the chaotic and multi-directional working atmosphere in the agency if such is the case?Fortunately, this is not so. For no organization will ever come to existence at all without a central force and figure. In the case of the National Museum, this central figure is the Directors' Office.The Directors' Office manages the twelve different divisions of the National Museum system, formulates micro and macro development plans and programs, establishes priorities for the utilization of funds, manpower, equipment and other resources, and establishes linkages as well as working relationships with various government agencies. Four working units are severally responsible for performing this multi-faceted role: the Planning Unit, the Legal Unit, the Internal Audit System Unit, and the Information Technology Unit.

Planning Unit

The Planning Unit is basically tasked to develop short-term, medium-term and long-term plans for the agency. Also known as the "think tank" of the Museum, the Planning Unit is responsible for providing the Directors with economical, efficient, and effective services relative to planning and project development as well as coordinating the implementation of approved plans and programs. The Unit also maintains linkages with government and non-government agencies/institutions and assist in information dissemination campaigns of the Museum.

Legal Unit

As its name implies, the Legal Unit takes care of the legal affairs of the National Museum and provides the Directors' Office with pertinent legal advice and recommendations.

This page was last modified Friday, February 7, 2014
National Museum of the Philippines
Padre Burgos Drive, City of Manila, Philippines